Created by the Clayton County Board of Commissioners on May 15, 2007, by Resolution 2007-80, the function of the Parks and Recreation Advisory Board is to:

  • Provide an ongoing process allowing public access to the planning, development, management, and programming of the County parks and recreation system.
  • Serve in an advisory capacity to the Board of County Commissioners on matters relating to the Parks and Recreation Division.

Each Commissioner is represented on the Parks and Recreation Advisory Board by one appointee and one member from a special interest area and one member from athletics are recommended to the Board of Commissioners by the Parks and Recreation Director.


Members of the Parks and Recreation Advisory Board

Jarvis Jackson (District 1) Term Ends 12/31/2022

Rickey Lovelace (District 2) Term Ends 12/31/2024

Carlos Benifield (District 3) Term Ends 12/31/2024

Steve Lundquist (District 4)Term Ends 12/31/2022

Ianta Burks (Chairman Appointed) 12/31/2024

Carlos Frazier (At Large) Term Ends 6/30/2021

Dr. Elliott McGlory (At Large) Term Ends 6/30/2021

Next Meeting


Date: Monday,  January 25, 2021

Time: 6:30PM

Annual Organizational Meeting (Virtual)

Questions concerning the Parks and Recreation Advisory Board can be emailed to

Meeting Agendas & Minutes

October 7,  2019

August 5,  2019

April 29,  2019

March 25, 2019


January 28, 2019

November 26, 2018

October 1, 2018

August 20, 2018

January 29, 2018

November 13, 2017

October 30, 2017

September 18, 2017

February 28, 2017

February 8, 2017